The current Chairman of the Wicklow Fine Gael Local Authority Members Cllr George Jones this week welcomed the new line up for Local Elections on May 23rd.

George who is stepping down after 35 years serving the Greystones area said “With selection conventions completed in 4 of the 5 electoral divisions it great to see the mix of experience and new candidates that have been selected by the Fine Gael party. With the Town Councils being replaced by a single Authority in the County it is important that strong representation is provided in each area.

Cllr Jones continued “ in Greystones area the part has selected two outgoing Town & County Councillors Grainne McLoughlin and Derek Mitchell and adding two new candidates with Liz Dillon and David O’Reilly competing the ticket.

The Bray area has selected the existing Town & County Councillors Mick Glynn & John Ryan with Sarah Wray adding her Town Council experience to the party ticket.

The West has gone for the experience of Vincent Blake and Edward Timmins, while Wicklow East has selected newcomer Shay Cullen Roundwood to join the experience of existing Councillors Malcolm Earls and Irene Winters.

Cllr Jones concluded “Fine Gael have a reputation of hard working councillors displaying honesty and integrity and putting their county first and I am sure the voters will strongly support this team on May 23rd.”